87th Women’s Trans National Amateur Championship Tees Off From Mid Pines

The event is free and open to the public

SOUTHERN PINES, N.C. – July 6, 2017 – The 87th Annual Women’s Trans National Championship, one of the nation’s longest, consecutively played women’s amateur championships, will tee off from Mid Pines Inn & Golf Club beginning this Tuesday, July 11. The event will run through Friday, July 14, is free and open to the public.

The Championship traditionally draws a strong field of career amateurs, collegiate players, and LPGA hopefuls. This year’s field features amateur golfers from 10 countries, including Australia, Canada, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Nigeria, the Philippines and the United States. Thirteen competitors hail from North Carolina, including Roshnee Sharma of Waxhaw and Nicole Adam of Pinehurst. The field also includes 41 collegiate golfers from 29 universities.

Competition is set to begin on Tuesday, July 11 at 7:30 a.m. The field will be cut to low 60 and ties after 36 holes of qualifying on July 11 and 12. At that time, low medalists will be recognized for the overall amateur, junior, mid-am and senior players.  Additionally, the Howell Team Trophy will be awarded to a participating college or club team duo with the lowest score. The semifinal and final rounds will take place on July 13 and 14.     

This year marks the fourth time that Mid Pines, a classic Donald Ross designed course, has hosted the Championship. Past champions at Mid Pines include  Paige Mackenzie (2005), Sherri Steinhauser (1983) and Catherine Reynolds (1977).

For more information about the Women’s Trans National Golf Association, please visit www.womenstrans.com

1996 U.S. Open, Annika Sorenstam Annika Sorenstam & Peggy Kirk Bell, 1996 U.S. Women's Open

Your Home Away From Home